The Sound of TV

For the last three weeks, my Friday nights have been spent watching the last thing I worked on before lockdown: Sound of TV with Neil Brand on BBC Four. It’s an exquisite journey through the familiar soundtrack to our lives, characterised by the music that underscores society’s primary form of entertainment. It was a privilege to work on, too: I was part of a team of exceptionally talented producers, all of us feeling lucky to be working with the nicest presenter in television. This production also marked my first brush with scriptwriting – I was tasked with researching Episode Two, and took the opportunity to write a rough outline of a script for it, which became less and less rough as the rushes came back and I was able to play with the beginnings of an edit script. After my contract ended, curatorship was handed over to a brilliant edit producer, Lucy, but when it came to the screening I was delighted to see that some of my script did make it through the rigorous editing process! It was a tricky episode to structure – jingles, channel idents and advertisements were all bundled into the episode together – but the spinal column of the episode followed the logical and chronological structure that I had planned out in my version of the script. I feel now that I can move forward with renewed confidence to the next step in my career.

The Sound of TV

Leave a comment